Election results were slow in coming Tuesday evening because of record turnouts.

At 9:30 p.m. with 13 precincts reporting, the Tazewell County District 1 race between Republican Jay Hall and incumbent Democrat Gary Sciortino for the remainder of a two-year seat vacated by Mary Palmer placed Hall with a significant lead of 1,983 to Sciortino’s 1,673.

There are five candidates for the District 1 four-year terms — incumbents Republican Nancy Proehl and Democrats Darrell “Dude” Meisinger, Sue Sundell and Joe Wolfe. Pekin Republican Kim Joesting, a former Caterpillar Inc. employee, is the only non-incumbent running for a District 1 four-year seat. The former Caterpillar Inc. employee is a member of the Pekin Zoning Board of Appeals.

The vote count was Joesting, 2,279, Proehl, 2,157, Sundell, 1,360, Meisinger, 1,631, and Wolfe, 1,369.

There are 21 county board seats. Of those, 14 were on Tuesday’s ballot.

Of the 21 board seats, spread among three districts, 14 are up for voter consideration this year.

Tazewell County is facing financial issues with the decline in state shared revenues. The board asked all county offices to cut spending by 10 percent in the 2017 budget to avoid a deficit.

Both candidates have said they would be willing to cut staff positions if need be. Sciortino worked in various capacities for Laborers’ Union Local 231 in Pekin. Hall is president of research and development for Excalibur Seasoning Co. in Pekin.

District 1 includes Pekin, Cincinnati, Delavan, Malone, Sand Prairie and Spring Lake townships.

District 3

There is one contested race in District 3. With five precincts reporting, former Tazewell County Board member and Republican Mike Godar, of Washington, was at 1,054 and Plumbers Local Union 63 Business Manager and Democrat Mike Doolan was at 797. They are vying for the seat vacated by the resignation of Terry Hillegonds.

Godar served on the board from 1998-2008. He is vice president of the Tazewell County Board of Health.

Doolan is a member of the Illinois Plumbing Code Advisory Council. He said former Gov. Pat Quinn, a Democrat, appointed him to that position and successor Bruce Rauner, a Republican, re-appointed him.

The other vote counts were Russ Crawford, 1,215, Mike Harris, 1,257, and Mary Jo Holford, 1,344, all incumbent candidates seeking reelection. The district consists of Boynton, Deer Creek, Fondulac, Hittle, Little Mackinaw, Mackinaw and Washington townships.

District 2

District 2 incumbents, with 16 precincts reporting, all Republicans, are without challenge. The four four-year candidates vote counts were Jim Donahue, 5,085, Carroll Imig, 4,519, Tim Neuhauser, 4,340, and Greg Sinn. 4,167. Greg Menold is running to fill the remaining two years of a term to which he was appointed in 2015 after incumbent Dean Grimm died. Menold’s vote count was 8,784.

Dillon, Elm Grove, Groveland, Hopedale, Morton and Tremont townships constitute District 2.

The Peoria Journal Star contributed to this report.