It's Election Day — meaning the long-running primary campaign season is at an end.

By the end of the evening, voters will have selected Republican and Democratic nominees for a bevy of statewide posts, including governor and attorney general. And they will have made selections for nominees for local county positions as well.

When can I vote?

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Do I have to choose a party?

No, but you can. Most of the contested races are on the Republican or Democratic ballots. But some local races will also appear on a nonpartisan ballot that you can select. Those include any local referendums.

In Tazewell County that includes a countywide tax referendum as well as a local one for Washington District 51 voters. And city of Washington residents will also decide on all ballots — Republican, Democrat and nonpartisan — whether to have future city races be nonpartisan.

In Peoria County, voters will decide whether to make the county auditor's position appointed, and Bartonville voters will consider a school tax referendum.

And in Woodford County voters will consider a school facilities sales tax.

Major races

Most of the decisive action will be on the east side of the river Tuesday.

Tazewell County Republicans will select nominees for sheriff (between Mike Eeten and Jeff Lower) and for a two-year unexpired coroner term (between Scott Price, Charlie Hanley and Steve Bresnahan). No Democrats have filed to run for either seat in the fall.

They'll also pick a nominee for county clerk between John Ackerman, Brett Grimm and Shelly Hranka. The winner will face Democrat Brittany Miller in the fall in a contest to replace retiring longtime clerk Christie Webb. And they'll narrow the field in a County Board contest in District 2.

Peoria County Democratic voters will select between Jessica Thomas and Emily Rotherham for their nominee for auditor, if the position isn't made appointive. And a contested board nomination will be decided in the western part of the county.

Woodford County Republican voters will narrow the field — tantamount to election in the GOP-leaning county — by selecting nominees for County Board in all three districts.

A single exception

One city of Peoria contest will also be completely decided. Martha Ross is seeking another five-year term on the Peoria Public Schools board, and faces a write-in campaign by Angela Sierra. The winner will be inaugurated later this year.

What's turnout like?

Typically, primary elections see fewer voters come out than a general election. But this year the difference between the two may be less.

In Peoria County, early voting turnout was up last Friday more than 35 percent over 2014 when 1,275 citizens cast such ballots. It had cleared 2,000 by Monday, with more Democrats than Republicans using such ballots by about a two-to-one ratio, Tom Bride, the county election commission executive director said.

Four years ago for the gubernatorial primary, turnout didn't clear 20 percent in the county, but this year with heavier interest Bride said it could top 25 percent. Republican Gov. Bruce Rauner is being challenged by state Rep. Jeanne Ives in a divisive contest. And there's a six-person field for Democrats selecting a nominee for governor, including JB Pritzker, Chris Kennedy, Daniel Biss, Bob Daiber, Tio Hardiman and Bob Marshall.

Where's your polling place?

You can find lists at, or through the clerk's page at

What if I have questions?

You can call your local election authority. In Peoria County, call 494-8683; in Tazewell County, 477-2267; in Woodford County, 467-2822.

And if you have complaints about any perceived malfeasance or other concerns, you can call the Illinois State Board of Elections hotline in Springfield, (217) 782-4141. Calls there will be fielded from 5:30 a.m. until midnight.

Chris Kaergard can be reached at or 686-3255. Follow him on Twitter @ChrisKaergard.