For a plethora of candidates across the state and locally in the Tri-County Area it may have been Election Day on Tuesday, but there were no opponents to be had.

That means that, assuming they at least voted for themselves, these candidates will advance to the fall election.


Democrat Secretary of State Jesse White and Republican challenger Jason Helland; Democrat Comptroller Susana Mendoza and Republican challenger former state Rep. Darlene Senger; Democrat Treasurer Michael Frerichs and Republican challenger Jim Dodge are all nominated for office.


U.S. Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Moline, wins her party's renomination for another term; she will be challenged by Republican Bill Fawell in the 17th Congressional District


State Reps. Ryan Spain, R-Peoria; Mike Unes, R-East Peoria; Jehan Gordon-Booth, D-Peoria; Keith Sommer, R-Morton; Tom Bennett, R-Gibson City; and Tim Butler, R-Springfield all won their party's nominations. Carolyn Blodgett, D-Canton, was unopposed to face Unes in the fall; Jill Blair, D-Bloomington, was unopposed to face Sommer in the fall.

State Sens. Bill Brady and Jason Barickman, both R-Bloomington, were also unopposed for renomination.

Peoria County

County Sheriff Brian Asbell, a Republican, and Bartonville Police Chief Brian Fengel, a Democrat, were unopposed for their nominations for the sheriff contest in the fall.

Democratic County Clerk Steve Sonnemaker, Democratic Regional Superintendent of Schools Beth Derry and Republican county Treasurer Nicole Demetreas were unopposed for their party's nominations. So, too, was county auditor candidate Alan Parades.

County Board Democratic members Junior Watkins, Andrew Rand, Alan Mayer, Phil Salzer and Kate Pastucha were unopposed for their renominations, as were newcomer Democrat candidates Rob Reneau and Jeff Braun.

Republicans Brian Elsasser and Paul Rosenbohm were unopposed for their renominations. So, too, were newcomers Brett Beachler, Dave LaHood, Matt Shane, and Rachel Reliford.

Tazewell County

GOP County Treasurer Mary Burress and Regional Superintendent of Schools Patrick Durley were renominated without opposition.

Democrat clerk candidate Brittany Miller was nominated without opposition.

Republican District One County Board candidate Jay Hall was nominated, as were District Three candidates Seth Mingus and Greg Longfellow.

Democrat District One County Board candidates Monica Connett and Frank Sciortino were unopposed for renomination; ditto for Joe Wolfe for an unexpired two-year term. Matt Ward was likewise unopposed for nomination in District Three.

Woodford County

GOP Treasurer Melissa Andrews, Sheriff Matt Smith and clerk candidate Dawn Kupfer were unopposed for nomination.