TimesNewspapers earns journalism excellence awards

Staff Writer
Woodford Times

TimesNewspapers picked up 14 awards Friday in the Illinois Press Association’s “Best of the Press 2009” editorial contest, three of which were first-place awards.

Peoria Times-Observer news editor DeWayne Bartels won second-place in local editorial for “Callahan should cultivate ideas, not spread political manure.”

The judges wrote,” Biting prose, delivered in an effective manner. This easily could have been another ponderous scorecard about hot-button debate topic. The writer looks deeper and jumps on a candidate’s attempt to belittle an opponent because of his age.”

The Peoria Times-Observer also captured third-place in the general excellence category.

The judges wrote, “Photos and design played a big role in this selection. Enjoyed the ‘We Jury’ comments, opinion pieces, consider adding feature or investigative stories to give more depth.”

The Chillicothe Times-Bulletin and Morton Times-News captured the three first-place awards.

The Chillicothe Times-Bulletin took first-place in the sports section category. The Times-Bulletin also received an honorable mention in the spot news, photo series and general excellence categories.

TimesNewspapers Tazewell County sports editor Bryan Veginski took both first-place and received an honorable mention in the single page design category for the Morton Times-News.

Reporter Nick Stroman received first- place in the news reporting-single story category for a story in the Morton Times-News. He also received an honorable mention in the feature writing category.

Steve Daggs, a photographer for TimesNewspapers, received an honorable mention for sports photos in the East Peoria Times-Courier.

Nathan Domenighini, editor of the Morton Times-News, received second- place in the feature writing category and third-place in the special section category.

TimesNewspapers creative director Lynne Johnson received an honorable mention in the special sections category.