Historical society plans meeting for those with a sweet tooth
Cunningham’s Candies in Minonk will be the topic of the Woodford County Historical Society meeting at 7 p.m. Sept. 9.
Gathering at St. Paul’s Church of Christ fellowship hall, 236 W. 5th St., members and guests will learn the history and present methods of chocolate confection manufacture from Christie Ruestman who co-owns the company with sister Cindy Meyer.
Cunningham’s Candies traces its roots back to 1915, when two Greek candy makers immigrated to Minonk. They brought their old-world recipes with them and quickly became the area’s premier chocolate confectioner.
The Cunningham family took over the business in 1976, and the Ruestman sisters and their families acquired the company in 1993 and moved it to its current location on Minonk’s historic Main Street.
Using traditional, hands-on processes, Cunningham’s crafts their confections.
In the tradition of its artisan founders, Cunningham’s Candies is unique among today’s candy makers because they refuse to use additives and preservatives.
For more information about Cunningham’s Candies, call 800-827-8336 or visit http://cunninghamscandies.com.
The Woodford County Historical Society meets on the second Thursday of each month, March through December, at different places in the County.
All meetings are free and open to the public.
The Society maintains a mini-museum and genealogical research room at 112 N. Main, Eureka which is open from 1 to 4 p.m. on Wednesdays and Fridays.
The staff will open the facility at other times by appointment. In addition, the society publishes a quarterly newsletter, “The Archive,” which includes matters of historical and contemporary interest.
Membership in the Society is open to all for a nominal fee. For more information, contact Karen Fyke at 467-4525, Barbara Bradle at 467-3606, or firstname.lastname@example.org.
The October meeting will be at 7 p.m. Oct. 14 at Snyder Village Community Room in Metamora. Mike Hinrichsen will evaluate old watches.