Sandifer Fellowship recipients named

Staff Writer
Woodford Times

Eureka College has announced recipients of its Durward V. Sandifer Fellowships.  The students, all who will be juniors this fall, are:

• Jenelle Chapman of Annawan, biology major;

• Rebecca Collins of Monee, theatre arts and drama and organizational leadership major;

• Justin Dillard of Goodfield, biology major;

• Alyssa Martin of Peoria, business administration and computer studies major;

• Nathan Mullins of South Duxbury, Vt., mathematics with teacher certification major                                       • Kayla Walden of Marquette Heights, elementary education with teacher certification major.

The students qualified by completing their first four semesters at Eureka College with a minimum 3.5 grade point average, a minimum 80 hours of community service on and off campus, and involvement and leadership on campus, according to Director of Applied Learning Shari Rich. The students will receive a stipend to assist them with a mentorship anywhere in the world with a mentor of their choice, Rich said.

Eureka College initiated the program in 2004 to extend the advantages of mentorships to a wider group of students.  Ronald Reagan Fellows also receive similar mentorships.

The Sandifer Fellowship is named in honor of Durward V. Sandifer, a 1924 graduate of the college who played a major role with the U.S. State Department in the creation of the United Nations.  Sandifer is credited with having provided most of the wording for the U.N. Declaration of Human Rights.