Students inducted into social science honor society

Staff Writer
Woodford Times

Twenty-three students were inducted into the Eureka College chapter of Pi Gamma Mu international honor society in social science at a banquet April 12.

They are Patrick Carr and David Mitchell, both of Eureka; Azize Arcan, Peoria Heights; Adam Crank, Lacon; Wendy Ferguson, Lucas Parr and Danielle Warner, all of Metamora; Nathan Haydary and Benjamin Mathewson, both of Peoria; Cari Ingle, Williamsfield; Mitch Johnson, St. Robert, Mo.; Hilary Kodatt and Shari Steidinger, both of Morton; Nathan Mullins, South Duxbury, Vt.; Austin Noble, Washburn; Megan Pala, El Paso; Justin Peters, Pekin; Aaron Roberts, Mt. Zion; Katelyn Rowen, East Moline; Meredith Tuttle, Trivoli; Elizabeth Wells, Plano; Collin Wolf, Morrison; and Shane Woodcock, Tolono.

Membership in Pi Gamma Mu is open to students and faculty members involved in the social sciences. To qualify, a student must have junior, senior or graduate standing, be in the top 35 percent of their class and have an average of B or better in at least 20 semester hours of social science classes, including economics, history, political science, sociology, anthropology, geography, criminal justice, social work or international relations.

Pi Gamma Mu, founded in 1924, has 170,000 members in 180 chapters located at colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.  The purpose of the society is to encourage academic excellence in the social sciences, promote social service and develop leadership skills among its members. The Illinois Rho Chapter of Pi Gamma Mu was founded at Eureka College in 1992.