State applauds Eureka High School students' success

Staff Writer
Woodford Times

EUREKA — Eureka High School Principal Richard Wherley is pleased to announce that 15 Eureka High School students have been recognized as 2013-14 Illinois State Scholars.

The prestigious award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), recognized 18,863 high school students from across the state as this year’s State Scholars. Since 1979, over 582,000 Illinois students have been honored as State Scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of high school seniors from 749 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

Boggs, Anna

Crenshaw, Mark

Dewald, Corey

Highfill, Ryan

Kennell, Ryan

Leman, Brett

Mckee, Austin

Mcsweeney, Cameron

Meiss, Vaughan

Newell, Katrina

Peters, Grant

Schrock, Ashley

Slingerland, Erik

Smith, Courteney

Wilkins, Jesse

“We’re pleased to honor this year’s Illinois State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC Executive Director. “Not only do they represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois, they also are key to the state’s future economic well-being. The Commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at Eureka High School on this achievement.”

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships in addition to completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) after January 1 to determine eligibility for federal and state aid, including Illinois’ $387 million need-based Monetary Award Program (MAP).

“Each of the 15 Eureka High School students should take pride in their accomplishment and what it says about their commitment to academic attainment,” Zarnikow concluded.