Eureka College Athletics

Staff reports

Ten Eureka College student-athletes qualified for the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference spring all-academic team, according to an announcement from the league office last week.

The announcement gives the Red Devils 27 academic all-conference selections for the 2011-12 academic year.

Seniors Nathan Pritzker (cross country/track and field), Rachel Funk (soccer/tennis) and Erika Thomas (soccer/track and field) joined junior Nathan Mullins (soccer/track and field) and sophomore Trevor Teal (basketball/baseball) as multi-sport athletes to earn SLIAC all-academic honors twice in 2011-12.

Senior softball shortstop Carissa Alig and senior tennis player Riana Riffle each qualified for the award for the third consecutive spring.

First-time recipients from the baseball squad included junior outfielder Mitch Johnson and sophomore pitcher Kyle Kiesewetter.

Sophomore men’s tennis player Cody Leach also qualified for the award for the first time.

The recipients were varsity members of their school’s baseball, softball, men’s golf, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field or women’s track and field squads teams.

Other selection criteria include a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average, at least sophomore academic standing and at least one full year at current institution. First-year transfers and true freshmen are not eligible.