Football team receives honors

Staff Writer
Woodford Times

Eureka College quarterback Sam Durley (Roanoke/Roanoke-Benson H.S.) and wide receiver Jordan Kindred (Chrisman/Chrisman H.S.) have each been named to the Team of the Week, according to an announcement from the website Sept. 4.

Durley set an NCAA record with 736 passing yards, while Kindred hauled in 13 receptions for 235 yards in the Red Devils’ 62-55 victory over Knox Sept. 1 in the inaugural Abraham Lincoln Bowl.

Durley finished the game 34-for-52 with five touchdown passes, including a pair of strikes to junior wideout Jake Bane (Dana/Fieldcrest H.S./Monmouth) in the final two minutes of the game to cap a run of 17 unanswered points by the Red Devils.

Durley’s final touchdown pass, a 13-yard toss to Bane with 20 seconds remaining, gave the Red Devils their first lead of the afternoon that eventually held up as the final 62-55 score.

In addition to the single-game NCAA record, Durley broke Eureka’s all-time passing yardage, attempts and passing touchdown records on Sept. 1.

The senior now has 6,095 career passing yards, 792 attempts and 48 touchdowns. Each mark bested the previous record held by Durley’s former teammate Nick Lindsey (2006-09). Durley is the first Red Devil in program history to throw for 6,000 yards.

Kindred finished with one of the top receiving performances in program history. Kindred, playing his first organized football game of any kind on Sept. 1, hauled in 13 balls for 235 yards. The 13 catches were the third-most catches in a game by a Red Devil in program history, while the 235 yards marked the fourth-best performance in school history.

Eureka’s victory secured ownership of the Abraham Lincoln Bowl traveling trophy, a bronze bust of young Lincoln that will be awarded to the winner of each game in the series versus Knox.

The Team of the Week, presented by Scoutware, recognizes the top player at each position from the previous week. The website has covered NCAA Division III football on a national basis for nearly two decades. Current assistant coach Wes Schmidgall was the most recent Red Devil to earn a spot on the team after making 18 catches for 273 yards against Greenville on Oct. 22, 2011.

Durley player of the week

Durley has been named the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Week, while senior kicker Travis Huber (Morton/Morton H.S.) has been selected as the UMAC Special Teams Player of the Week after the Red Devils’ 62-55 win at Knox.

Huber went a perfect 8-for-8 on extra points and drilled a pair of field goals in his 31st consecutive game as Eureka’s kicker. The eight extra points set a new single-game school record, while his first field goal in the third quarter was the 14th of his career for sole possession of the all-time Eureka record. He scored 14 points for the afternoon, one point shy of his career-high. The UMAC Player of the Week award is the third of his career.

Durley named Manning Award Player of the Week

NEW ORLEANS, La. — Durley has been named the Manning Award Player of the Week, presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, according to an announcement Thursday morning.

Durley, the first non-Division I player to be recognized, earned the honor over eight other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons.

In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor — he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season’s honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).