Volleyball opens conference with win

Adam Larck
Abby Barrow sets the ball against East Peoria on Thursday. The Redbirds won in two sets at home.

The Metamora volleyball team gave up a combined 22 points to Canton Sept. 24 as they easily won, 25-18, 25-4.

Abby Barrow led the Redbirds with 12 kills, while Erika Wilson contributed four aces and seven digs.

Cassidy Ioerger picked up a pair of blocks and Delaney Tjaden had nine assists.

The freshman team also picked up a three-set win, 25-13, 22-25, 15-8, while the sophomore team lost, 25-18, 26-24.

On Thursday, the Redbirds picked up another two set victory at home against East Peoria, 25-16, 25-21.

The attacking was led by Barrow, who had 14 kills and a pair of aces.

Taylor Kells had 11 assists, while Jordan TerBush had two blocks. Brooke Ahrens had seven digs.

While the Metamora freshman team fell, 19-25, 25-21, 15-9, the sophomore team won, 25-19, 25-23.

On Saturday, Metamora picked up a pair of wins at the Crimson Invitational.

The Redbirds opened up the day by beating Jacksonville Routt, 25-22, 25-11.

Barrow had 10 kills, while Kells had 12 assists and four aces. Wilson had eight digs.

In the second matchup, Rochester took a two set victory, 21-25, 24-26.

Barrow and TerBush both had eight kills, with TerBush getting two blocks and Barrow an ace. Kells had 18 assists, Wlson 111 digs and Ahrens added an ace.

Metamora suffered another loss Springfield Sacred Heart-Griffin, 17-25, 15-25.

Barrow had six kills, with Kells adding eight assists and Wilson had 11 digs. TerBush had five blocks, and Ahrens 2 aces.

Metamora finished Pool B play with a 31-29, 25-22 loss to Washington.

Destiny Adkins had seven kills, Tjaden had nine assists, Wilson had 10 assists, TerBush had three blocks and Ahrens and Kells both had an ace.

In the fourth-place match, the Redbirds defeated Morton in three sets, 22-25, 25-22, 15-8.

Barrow had 14 kills, while Kells racked up 22 assists and three aces. Wilson had 13 digs and Ioerger had two blocks.

Barrow was also named to the all-tourney team.